About the Journal

Focus and Scope

The University Heart Journal is the English Language, official "six-monthly peer reviewed" publication of Academic and Research Cell, Department of Cardiology, University Cardiac Center, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU), Bangladesh. It provides a forum for exchange of information on all aspects of cardiovascular medicine including education.

Peer Review Process

Every original research, brief communication, seminar, except for editorials or state-of-the-art paper have to undergo a process of peer review. Your report is first read by the three in house editors / editorial assistants. Some may be returned at this stage if the paper is deemed inappropriate for publication in the University Heart Journal. The other papers progress to have two or more reviewers. If reports are encouraging and editorial consensus if favorable, then final processing for publication will be started.

Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.

Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief :
Prof. Md. Abu Siddique, MBBS, PhD, FRCP

Editor :
Dr. Md. Harisul Hoque, MBBS, MD

Managing Editor :
Prof. Sajal Krishna Banerjee, MBBS, MD, FCCP, FACP, FESC

Executive editor :
Prof. Mohammad Safiuddin, MBBS, MD, DTCD, FCCP, FACC, FESC, FRCP (Glasgow), FRCP (Edin)

Associate Editors :
Prof. Syed Ali Ahsan, MBBS, MD, FICC, FACC
Prof. A. K. M Fazlur Rahman, MBBS, D.CARD, MCPS, MD, FACC
Prof. Chaudhury Meshkat Ahmed, MBBD, DEM, MD
Dr. Manzoor Mahmood, MBBS, MD, MRCP (UK), MSc (UK), D. CARD, FACC, FESC

Assistant Editors :
Dr. Mukhlesur Rahman, MBBS, MCPS, FCPS, MD
Dr. S. M. Ahsan Habib, MBBS, MD
Dr. Khurshed Ahmed, MBBS, FCPS, MD

Members :
Prof. Md. Zahid Hussain, MBBS, FCPS, MD, MD
Dr. M. A. Muqueet, MBBS, MRCP, DM
Dr. A. T. M. Iqbal Hasan, MBBS, MD, PhD, FCPS
Dr. Rezwanul Haque Bulbul, MBBS, MS, FCPS, FRCS
Dr. S. M. Mustafa Zaman, MBBS, MD, DTCD
Dr. Md. Tariqul Islam, MBBS, DCH, MD
Dr. Tanjima Parvin, MBBS, D. CARD, FCPS
Dr. Naveen Sheikh, MBBS, DCH, FCPS
Dr. Jahanara Arzu, MBBS, MD
Dr. Dipal Krishna Adhikary, MBBS, MD
Dr. Md. Abu Salim, MBBS, D. CARD, MD


    Academic and Research Cell, Department of Cardiology, University Cardiac Centre, BSMMU