Editorial Policies

Focus and Scope

The peer-reviewed Journal of Health, Population and Nutrition (4 issues per year) reports new findings on issues pertinent to: Maternal, child and family health and development; Reproductive and neonatal health; Impacts of infections on health and foetal outcomes; Immunization and vaccine development; Population science and demographic transitions; Perinatal, infant and child mortality; Nutrition and child development; Communicable diseases; Sexually transmitted diseases; Chronic diseases (epidemiology and public-health aspects); Health and family-planning systems; Public health and health equity; Poverty and health; Social determinants of health; Gender health and human rights; Water and sanitation; and Arsenic issues. There is no absolute rule against articles primarily dealing with industrialized countries; however, preference is given to the articles dealing with issues of developing countries.

To facilitate rapid publication of high-quality articles, the Journal has several section editors who review manuscripts in their areas of expertise. These sections include: Emerging Diseases, Health Systems, Immunization, Nutrition, Population, Reproductive and Neonatal Health, Water and Sanitation, Gender Health and Human Rights, Social Determinants of Health, and Case Studies. The Journal favours manuscripts that show interactions among different sections and cross-cutting of issues relating to broad aspects of health.

 

Section Policies

Editorial

Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Unchecked Peer Reviewed

Commentary

Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Original Papers

Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Review Article

Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Short Report

Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed

Letter to the Editor

Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Unchecked Peer Reviewed

Meeting Report

Checked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Unchecked Peer Reviewed

Case studies

Publish one case study in a particular issue

Unchecked Open Submissions Checked Indexed Checked Peer Reviewed
 

Publication Frequency

The journal is published quarterly.

 

Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.

 

Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief
Dr. Abbas Uddin Bhuiya, Social Determinants of Health
International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh (ICDDR,B)

Managing Editor
Md. Sirajul Islam Molla
ICDDR,B

Executive Editor
Dr. Jocalyn Clark (Jocalyn@icddrb.org)
ICDDR,B

Managing Editor
Md. Sirajul I. Molla (sim@icddrb.org)
ICDDR,B

Section Editors
Emerging Infectious Diseases
Dr. James D. Heffelfinger (james@icddrb.org)
ICDDR,B

Water and Sanitation
Dr. Stephen P. Luby (sluby@stanford.edu)
Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment, CA, USA

Health Systems
Dr. Charles P. Larson (clarson@cw.bc.ca)
The Centre for International Child Health, Vancouver, Canada

Nutrition
Dr. Tahmeed Ahmed (tahmeed@icddrb.org)
ICDDR,B

Population
Professor Terence H. Hull (terry.hull@anu.edu.au)
ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences, Australia

Reproductive and Neonatal Health
Dr. Kaosar Afsana (afsana.k@brac.net)
Health, Nutrition and Population Programme, Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee (BRAC)

Immunization
Dr. K. Zaman (kzaman@icddrb.org)
ICDDR,B

Gender Health and Human Rights
Dr. Ruchira Tabassum Naved (ruchira@icddrb.org)
ICDDR,B

Social Determinants of Health
Dr. Abbas Bhuiya (abbas@icddrb.org)
ICDDR,B

Chronic Diseases
Professor Zuo-Feng Zhang (zfzhang@ucla.edu)
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health. CA, USA

Case Studies
Dr. Mark Pietroni (markpietroni@gmail.com)
ICDDR,B

Coeditors

Emerging Infectious Diseases
Dr. Emily Gurley (egurley@icddrb.org)
Dr. Leanne Unicomb (leanne@icddrb.org)
Dr. Jahangir Hossain (jhossain@mrc.com)
Dr. Sharifa Nasrin (drsharifa74@gmail.com)
Dr. Shua J Chair (ffo8@cdc.gov)

Nutrition
Dr. A.S.G. Faruque (gfaruque@icddrb.org)

Case Studies
Professor Ali Kawser (cakawser@gmail.com)

International Advisory Board Members

Prof Peter F McDonald
The Australian National University

Dr Alejandro  Cravioto
ICDDR, B
acravioto@icddrb.org

Dr. Tahmeed  Ahmed
ICDDR, B
tahmeed@icddrb.org

Dr. Tasnim Azim
ICDDR, B
tasnim@icddrb.org
tasnim_a@yahoo.com

Dr Khwaja M.S. Aziz
dailyaziz@yahoo.com
azizkms@gmail.com

Dr. Md Sirajul Islam
ICDDR, B
sislam@icddrb.org

Prof.   Barkat-e-Khuda
Professor of Economics
Barkatek@yahoo.com

Dr. Abbas Uddin Bhuiya
ICDDR, B
abbas@icddrb.org

Dr W Henry Mosley
bunnym3@comcast.net

Dr. Richard Bradley Sack
School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins University, USA
rsack@jhsph.edu
josack@hotmail.com

Dr. Nathaniel F. Pierce
nartepierce@earthlink.net

Dr. Jonathon  Simon
Boston University School of Public Health, USA
ccrowley@bu.edu

Dr. William B. Greenough III
Johns Hopkins University, USA
wgreeno2@jhmi.edu
wgreenou@hotmail.com

Dr Henry B Perry
henry@future.org
nhperry@primeline.com

Dr. Atiqur Rahman Khan
atiq@breeshti.com

Dr. Md. Golam Hassan Rabbani
ICDDR, B
rabbani@icddrb.org

Dr Roger I Glass
National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, USA
glassr@mail.nih.gov

Dr. Mahfuzar  Rahman
Columbia University, Mailman School of Public Health
mr2640@columbia.edu

Dr. Allan H. Smith
University of California, Berkeley, USA

Prof Roger  Eeckels
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
roger.eeckels@med.kuleuven.be
Roger.Eeckels@med.kuleuven.be

Prof J Richard Hamilton
Richard.Hamilton@muhc.mcgill.ca

Dr. Demissie  Habte
Ethiopia
demissiehabte@yahoo.com

Dr Dilip  Mahalanabis
Society for Applied Studies
India
dmahalanibis@vsnl.com
dilipm@giascl01.vsnl.net.in
dmahalanabis@vsnl.com
sas_kolkata@vsnl.net

Dr. Gopinath Balakrish Nair
National Institute of Cholera and Enteric Disease, India
gbnair_2000@yahoo.com

Dr Ruairi  Brugha
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

Dr. Yukiko  Wagatsuma
University of Tsukuba Graduate School of Comprehensive Human Sciences, Japan
ywagats@attglobal.net
ywagats@md.tsukuba.ac.jp

Dr. John D Clemens
International Vaccine Institute, South Korea
jclemens@ivi.org

Dr. Lorenz Von Seidlein
International Vaccine Institute (IVI), South Korea
lseidlein@ivi.int

Dr. Manuel John Albert
Kuwait University
john@hsc.edu.kw

Prof Zulfiqar Ahmed Bhutta
The Aga Khan University, Pakistan
zulfiqar.bhutta@aku.edu

Dr Claudio Franco Lanata
Instituto de Investigacion Nutricional, Peru
clanata@iin.sld.pe

Professor Marian E Jacobs
University of Cape Town, South Africa
health-dean@uct.ac.za
marian.jacobs@uct.ac.za

Prof Jan  Holmgren
Göteborg University
Sweden
Jan.Holmgren@microbio.gu.se

Prof. Lars-Ake  Persson
Uppsala University Hospital, Sweden
lars-ake.persson@kbh.uu.se
IMCH.secretariat@khb.uu.se

Prof Ann-Mari  Svennerholm
The Sahlgrenska Academy at University of Gothenburg, Sweden
ann-mari.svennerholm@microbio.gu.se

Prof Klaus E Gyr
Innere Medizin u. Gastroenterologie, Switzerland
niklaus.gyr@unibas.ch

Dr Tikki  Pang
World Health Organization, Switzerland
pangt@who.int

Dr Mushtaque  Chowdhury
The Rockefeller Foundation, Thailand
mchowdhury@rockfound.org

Dr. W van Lerberghe
Office of Healthcare Reform, Ministry of Public Health, Bangkok
Thailand

Prof. Dr. Supayang P. Voravuthikunchai
Prince of Songkla University, Thailand
supayang.v@psu.ac.th

Prof. John  Cleland
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, UK
John.Cleland@lshtm.ac.uk

Dr Andrew  Collins
Northumbria University, UK
andrew.collins@northumbria.ac.uk

Dr Valerie  Curtis
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK
val.curtis@lshtm.ac.uk

Dr Andrew  Hall
University of Westminister, UK
ah2108@gmail.com

Dr Alec  Mercer
amercer@icddrb.org

Prof Kim  Mulholland
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Prof Andrew  Tomkins
a.tomkins@ich.ucl.ac.uk

Prof. John Patrick Vaughan
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK
Patrick.Vaughan@lshtm.ac.uk

Dr. Saifuddin  Ahmed
Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health, USA
sahmed@jhsph.edu

Dr. Hasanat  Alamgir
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, USA
Abul.H.Alamgir@uth.tmc.edu

Dr Radheshyanm  Bairagi

Dr. Abdullah Hel Baqui
abaqui@jhsph.edu

Professor Stan  Becker
sbecker@jhsph.edu

Prof Robert E Black
Johns Hopkins University, USA
rblack@jhsph.edu

Professor Rita Rossi Colwell
The University of Maryland, USA
rcolwell@umiacs.umd.edu

Dr. M Badrud Duza
duza.mbadrud@gmail.com

Indexed/abstracted by Current Contents: Clinical Medicine, Research Alert, SCI Expanded, SCI JCR, Index Medicus, PubMed/MEDLINE, POPLINE, Google Scholar, Elsevier Bibliographic Databases (Scopus, Embase, EMBiology, and
EMCare), Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, CAB Abstracts, CAB Health, etc.

Available online at http://www.icddrb.org/jhpn, http://www.who.int/hinari, http://www.bioline.org.br/hn, http://www.FreeMedical-Journals.com, http://www.doaj.org, http://www.openj-gate.com, http://www.portico.org, http://www.banglajol.info, etc.